Day 4: This is Your Life

this-is-your-life

How is everyone this morning? I woke up a little sore from yesterday’s workout, but I have to say, after even a few days, I’m feeling good and motivated to keep this workout train moving! I’m traveling next week, so I’ve scheduled out my workouts so that I can run while I’m out-of-town.  That’s the easiest way to workout when I’m on the road — pack the running shoes and set out around the city.  It also gives me a chance to do some “sightseeing” while getting a workout in at the same time (if you’re not a runner, walking works in this scenario as well.)

Yesterday’s HIIT was a tough one.  A warm-up, followed by box jumps, weights, jumping lunges and squats and then back to the elliptical for a 30-minute cardio session.  If you’re intimidated by HIIT or unsure where to start, the elliptical has a great option that gives you the high/low intensity.  The button at my gym is “weight loss” it might also say “fat burning” and you can select that when you first get on the machine.  It will automatically adjust the resistance and incline throughout the workout, changing the intensity and providing the high/low option to get your heart pounding and torching those calories.

Today’s workout is a run.  I registered for the Baltimore Half-Marathon this morning, so I’m pumped! I have a shorter race in July (more on that later), so it’s nice to have a few things on the calendar to push me.

Don’t forget to join the community at HilaryPhelps.com, under “Community Forum.”  This is a great place to chat with others who have joined in the 30 for 30, as well as post questions and comments on how your fitness regiment is coming along.

Click here to watch me sharing with the Washington, DC community my 30 for 30 Challenge last week.

 

Leave a Reply

