Friday Favorites: Steuart Martens

Steuart Martens, a contestant who won a spot as on of the final four contestants on the fall 2010 season of NBC’s “The Apprentice” is today’s Friday Favorite.  This weekend, in Washington, DC, Martens brings to the city Taste of DC, where 50 of the local restaurants will display and sample their foods from a limited menu.  Let’s hear about some of Steuart’s favorite things:

 

1)   Fashion:  If you could select one designer to wear for life, who would it be and why?

So at the end of the day, I guess it’s about versatility and durability. For suits, it’s less about the label and more about the cut. I like tailored, but not skinny. For shoes, I prefer loafers to lace-ups. In terms of a ‘designer for life’ there’s no question that Armani embodies success, but I’d rather go the route of my former host and part-time mentor, Donald Trump, and have my own name and label sewn into the back of my tie. Success never goes out of style.

2)   Fitness: What is your daily routine? Are you currently training for a race?

I was a collegiate D1 swimmer at Purdue. After college, I made the transition that many swimmers eventually undergo and I began to dabble in triathlon. ) Side note, I think the fact that you’ve done an Ironman is amazing. I hope to do one in the next year or so.) But when I began that foray into mulit-sport, I had a blast. As a matter of fact, I think I still hold the swim record for the Escape from Alcatraz.

3)   Culture: If you could go anywhere in the world, where would you go?

In terms of travel, I was just joking this morning that I would literally be happy if I was on the road 300 days a year. U.S. or Europe, or anywhere else, it really doesn’t’ t matter. I love traveling and I love brand-building. Vacations? I’m probably not so good at that. I’ve got to keep moving. So in the literal and metaphorical sense, I like traveling so long as I’m traveling for work…as backwards as that might sound to your readers.

4)   Culinary: What would you have as your last meal?

My last meal?! I’m laughing as I type this, because that exact question came up in the same conversation this morning, as the travel question above. This is so serendipitous! My last meal would be a nice steak, a plate full of delicious Belgian frites, and a cold seasonal beer. For desert? That’s easy, a pint (not a bowl, I do mean a full pint) of Ben & Jerry’s ice cream. When it comes to food, it’s less about the preparation and more about the fellowship that goes along with the ceremonial gathering around the dinner table.

5)   Wildcard: One piece of advice that has helped you get to where you are today. Tell us your favorite quote.

“If you’re going through hell, keep going.” To me, this resonates. When things seem their toughest, that’s never the time to stop. Hard works pays, and perseverance is rewarded
For more information on Taste of DC, including how to best get there, where it’s held and who it benefits, visit their website, Taste of DC.  The event is held Saturday, October 6-Monday October 8, from 12noon-7pm.

Leave a Reply

