Unsuccessful Peanut Butter Cookies

I laughed to myself as I started this post, after seeing the cartoon about working out from yesterday.  Laughing, because I’m now writing a post about baking cookies! However, I do believe in moderation, so getting in a workout now means enjoying a cookie later.

I’ve been seesawing on whether to go back to vegetarian/vegan eating.  Pre-Ironman, it was easy to make vegetarian choices and I didn’t feel as if I was missing out on nutrition while not eating meat. But, when my training picked up, my body was screaming for steak, so I listened to it and went back to eating meat.  Which leads me to my cookie selection today…

Honestly, I feel that I could give up meat, and even cheese, but I’d struggle to give up ice cream or baked desserts.  They are my weakness, my Achilles heel.  So, I came across this recipe for vegan Peanut Butter Cookies, and thought I would give them a try.

  • 1 1/2 Cup Flour
  • 1 Cup Peanut Butter
  • 1/2 Cup Oil
  • 3/4 Cup Sugar
  • 1 tsp. Vanilla

Combine all ingredients into a bowl and mix well (I used my standing mixer).  Roll into 2-inch balls, place on an ungreased cookie sheet and bake at 400 degrees for 10-12 minutes.

Sounds easy, right? I thought I would whip up a batch and take some with me when I travel to see a friend this weekend. Sometimes, things don’t always work out the way we plan, do they?

The first batch, I used a sheet of parchment paper to line the cookie sheet.  They came out burned on the bottom.  Thinking I should stick to the simple recipe, I removed the liner for the second batch.  They didn’t burn, but came out crumbly, to the point where I can’t even pick them up to eat them.  In an effort to be truly transparent, I also used whole wheat flour (in an attempt to cut out as much white flour as possible) and used Sugar in the Raw, instead of granulated sugar.

These vegan cookies would be delicious… crumbled over some yummy ice cream!  The search for vegan baked goods continues…

Leave a Reply

