Style 360: Day 1

I was very excited to receive an invitation to Elle Magazine’s 360 Style events, which includes fashion shows and parties and was happy to make the trip to one of my favorite cities, New York!  I was most interested in the shows, and really looking forward to my first Fashion Show experience.  Here’s how it went down:

Assuming that New York is always super busy, I gave myself an hour to get to go about 20 streets in a cab.  It wasn’t the travel that was tough… it was the “getting a cab” part.  I made an acquaintance in a woman named Stacy who ultimately gave me her cab.  I was wearing “big girl shoes” (which means high heals) and coming from a girl who loves her flats, this was a feat in and of itself! Running from corner to corner to hail a cab became tiring, and she was very helpful.

I made it to the show in time (and it started late, which is common) and took in the scene.  Danielle Staub, from the Real Housewives of New Jersey, and Jay Alexander, stylist and judge from America’s Next Top Model were front row.  The Veronica’s performed a song and then the lights dimmed.  Out came the models, one at a time, for the Boy Meets Girl show.

They walked down the runway, which T-boned into a group of photographers and videographers. Each model sauntered to upbeat music, with her own spunk and flashed a big, toothy smile at the end of the runway.  The show lasted about 10 minutes.  I can only imagine how much time, effort and coordination goes into that 10 minute show!

There was an After party following the show, so I hung around the venue for a little bit, since the club was right around the corner. It was chilly outside, and be it that I wasn’t wearing anything to cover my legs, I was happy for the warmth inside!

After some people watching and emails, I went out and grabbed a cab over to the after party, hosted by Natasha Bedingfield. I told the cabbie the address and the name of the club, and he said that he knew where it was.  He stopped in front of a club, with bouncers and a red carpet.  They asked “What party?” and I said “The after party” and that was all they needed.  In I walked, checked my coat and scoped the crowd.  Hmmm.  Not what I was expecting, but ok.  The room was mainly filled with men, wearing yamaka and a screen projecting the sponsor of the event, which was not one of the sponsors of the 360 event.  So, I walked around, grabbed some food and did some people watching.  Only when an elderly man took the podium and said “We are now ready for our presentation” did I ask the coat check if I was in the right place.  I wasn’t.  So, off I went, in my big girl shoes, around the corner to the right club!

All in all, it was a great day and I found myself wanting more.  The super high energy, the upbeat music and the smiling faces of the audience who are enjoying the show, is infectious. Onward, to-day 2!

One thought on “Style 360: Day 1

Leave a Reply

