Recipe: Oatmeal Raisin Cookies for Doug

My love for sugar is on par with Will Ferrell’s character in the movie Elf: I love it.  All forms, shapes, flavors and kinds of sugary goodness is a-ok in my book!  And it works in my favor in my relationship, because Doug is NOT a sweets person… except when it comes to Oatmeal Raisin Cookies.  Returning tomorrow from a week long international business trip, I decided that I would make him a batch for the ride home from the airport.  Most batches I make yield 12 cookies (as when Doug is in town, he enjoys a good amount of the cookie batter before they make their way into the oven) but tonight the batch made a full 2 dozen.

Ingredients:

1/2 cup (1 stick or 4 ounces) butter, softened

2/3 cup light brown sugar, packed

1 egg

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

3/4 cup all-purpose flour
 (I used Whole Wheat flour)

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 1/2 cups rolled oats

3/4 cup raisins

1/2 cup walnuts, chopped (optional)

Preheat oven to 350°F (175°C).

In a large bowl, cream together the butter, brown sugar, egg and vanilla until smooth. In a separate bowl, whisk the flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt together. Stir this into the butter/sugar mixture. Stir in the oats, raisins and walnuts, if using them.

I chill the cookies before I bake them, by putting the mixing bowl into the refrigerator for 5 minutes. Another option is to scoop the cookies onto a sheet and then chill the whole tray before baking them.

The cookies should be two inches apart on a parchment-lined baking sheet. Bake them for 10 to 12 minutes (baking time will depend on your oven and how cold the cookies were going in).  I take them out when I start to smell the cookies, which is 9 minutes in my oven.  They will look a little undercooked on top, which makes for chewy, moist cookies. Let them sit on the baking sheet for five minutes before transferring them to a rack to cool.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tips:

I wanted to try this batch with Whole Wheat Flour, to make them more “healthy.” I also used Sugar in the Raw, rather than processed sugar. If you don’t have Whole wheat flour or Sugar in the Raw, white flour and white sugar works great and is what I have used each of the many, many times I’ve made this recipe. With the flour and sugar substitutions, the cookies turned out great! Although, as I said earlier, if it has sugar in it, I’ll eat and enjoy them! The real test will be tomorrow when we find out if Doug can taste the difference… Stay tuned!

2 thoughts on “Recipe: Oatmeal Raisin Cookies for Doug

  1. Hello! My name is Rosana and I live in Brazil. I started reading your blog about a month ago and now I’m a fan. The things you say about family, friendship, being a better person are really amazing and they’re helping me to see things from a different side. Thanks! And the recipes… Oh my. I’ve just baked this one and they’re sooo good. (I agree with Doug, the batter is delicious!;)) The cookies will be a V-day treat to my coworkers – I’m a ESL teacher.

    Bye and Happy Valentine’s Day
    Rosana

    PS: Would you mind if I translate this recipe into Portuguese and post it on my blog? I’ll credit and link it back to you.

Leave a Reply

